Come On, Rogue

Dear Reader,

 

How long do you think it will be until we get a Star Wars universe film where they don’t make a gazillion references to the 3 classic movies?

I can’t exactly say I had high hopes for Rogue One, but I sat down and watched it, thinking I ought to give the film a chance at least before I condemn it to the ‘fan-pandering piece of shit’ pile. It wasn’t totally shit. There were some enjoyable moments – the inclusion of Mads Mikkelsen for one…. – but for the most part it was certainly fan-pandering.

Perhaps I am alone in thinking that the main character was completely and utterly pointless.  There seemed no point in it being specifically Jyn Erso. If anything, I believe the most interesting story was her fathers, but considering the age we live in, it seemed they were far too keen on having a female lead instead of an interesting and worthwhile lead. Her father was the one who was actually doing stuff. It was his actions that seemed to me to propel the plot, so why the hell wasn’t his the story we were told?

There was an ad for the movie coming up on Sky Cinema soon and Felicity Jones mentions the humour – but that only comes from K-2. K-2 made me eye roll every time he tried to make a joke. It was totally cringe-worthy. It just doesn’t work when there is only one character who is in on the humour and everyone else is completely stone-faced. You’ve got Chewie and Han or even C3-PO and R2-D2 (despite the fact we didn’t know what R2 was saying, you still knew they were having some top banter). These guys made it work in the original movies, because you knew that when there was dark, there was going to be some light when these characters were on the screen.

It was such an odd movie. I was trying to remember it the next morning after I watched it and I honestly couldn’t think of anything specifically that happened beyond they got the plans to the Death Star. Funny, because that’s all they based the plot on. Of course, there isn’t much of a plot there to begin with – it’s just something that needs to happen for Leia to meet Luke and well, you know the rest. The story was such a nothing that I only started getting into it when Jyn and that Kassian died. Then I could feel myself getting excited because I knew it was building to A New Hope.

Sadly, I believe the Star Wars movies are going to be nothing more than a money-maker now it’s gone to Disney. I mean, I know it was a money-maker before, but now the sequels/prequels/stories are all being sold on the fact that die-hard fans will literally eat up anything to do with those 3 films and the galaxy that they fell in love with.

 

Thanks for reading

xxx

Leave a comment